How to Group Sources – Theirs & Mine

Since I discovered that Ancestry updates/renames their sources from time to time I have decided that separating my sources from Ancestry’s is a good thing. Grouping Ancestry sources together will help me locate ones with-the-same-name that need to be combined. It will also make it easier to work through my sources and reverify them.

The fix: I decided to add a dash and a space “- ” in front of MY sources. When I did this FTM automatically sorted all of my sources on top alphabetically and all Ancestry sources below alphabetically.

Hint: You might be able to use ‘Find and Replace’ to easily change a group of sources at one time. Do a backup first and be very careful because there is no undo for this.

Now I can see that I have a LOT of sources to work on!

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

