How To Research Book Sources Online

I am very grateful for any and all info that has been shared with me by fellow genealogists. Many times however, I receive only partial source info. I enter as much as I have into my Sources but I constantly strive to find the original source. I would like to have a page number and text citation for each source. Since I usually don’t have time to visit the library I use the Internet as much as possible and I am always looking for ebooks. Here are 3 of my favorite online resources for searching books:

<www.worldcat.org> WorldCat is the world’s largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information. (Note: They now have a mobile app.) I like them because I can get the correct facts of a book, exact name, author, publisher, year published, number of pages, etc. and I can find out about different formats including online which are usually available at the library for free.

<books.google.com> If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given us permission, you’ll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it’s in the public domain, you’re free to download a PDF copy.

<babel.hathitrust.org> HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than 100 partners than in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide.

Can you add to this list?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

