To Merge or Not To Merge

When I merge FindaGrave or Marriage records from Ancestry into FTM, many times there are other people listed on the record besides the person I am searching for info for. Let’s say that I have a FindaGrave record for Max Muggle. The Web Merge Wizard also shows his father, mother, wife, children. I have found that if I merge these extra people from Max Muggles record that it saves the Source Citation with his name instead of theirs. I have decided not to merge these records so as to avoid confusion and to keep things less cluttered. I merge each FindaGrave record individually which is time consuming but I really like having one Source Citation for each person.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

